BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Lunartek

Lunartek
Hi all.

As the title says, I've picked up a 1986 K100 RS that's been sat for 14 years. It's got some superficial rust on the frame and exhaust etc.

However, I'd like to get it running before I strip it for restoration. 

I'm hoping someone is able to give some advice on the best approach here (as I'm a total noob). cheers

I was thinking - Check/clean/replace fuel tank, pump and lines. Oil change. Clean/replace fuel injectors and spark plug. 

Is this a good plan or should I be worried that the engine is seized after this time?

Thanks,

Alex

Point-Seven-five

Point-Seven-five
Life time member
Life time member
Oil change, fresh fuel with a fuel system cleaner, and shoot a little bit of oil in the cylinders then give it a try with a fresh battery.  You might be pleasantly surprised.  If the bike was running when put away, the chances are pretty good that it will run now. 

Have you done a good clean on the bike?  It's always a lot more pleasant to work on a nice clean machine.  That is always the first thing I do to a bike that is new to me.

Past:
1994 K75RT "Ilsa, She Wolf of the SS"
1988 K100RS SE "Special Ed"
1994 K75S "Cheetos"
1992 K100RS "Moby Brick" R.I.P.
1982 Honda FT500
1979 Honda XR185
1977 Honda XL125
1974 Honda XL125
1972 OSSA Pioneer 250
1968 Kawasaki 175

Lunartek

Lunartek
Thanks for the reply and tips. It was running when put away so fingers crossed! 

I've not cleaned it yet. Not actually had a moment spare for it. But a good clean is definitely on the cards!

Two Wheels Better

Two Wheels Better